Three Good Things

I have a tendency to rush from thing to thing. I’m a busy person. I work, I study, I write. But the thing is, I’m not always happy. Since I was a teenager I have had periods of depression. During my most recent bout a therapist told me that one of the things actually definitely proven to make people feel better was writing down three things every day that went well, that they’re grateful for. Lovely things. I was skeptical, but I went with it.

And it worked.

Writing down the good means that suddenly days seem impossibly full of nice things. New yellow undies, good conversations with friends, wandering round the city in the rain and everything shining, finding the most amazing pair of ’90s fluro swimmers in vinnies – not only because now I have amazing fluro swimmers which also have little black frills and fish pictures, but also because it means one day it will be summer again, how nice it is to come home when someone’s been baking and the kettle’s on.

Things overlooked and forgotten when your mind is playing a constant negative loop and unhelpful thoughts are imprinted on the inside of your skull. I really think you shape the world by how you see it, it’s just that sometimes my mind can’t quite seem to see the good. Sometimes it just needs help I guess, and all the good it can get.

4 comments on “Three Good Things

  1. Unfortunately if your depression is severe enough, just writing down good things won’t always work. It didn’t work for me because my depression was physical too. Even though I had accepted the depression, it still didn’t change the fact that my ability to enjoy anything was impossible. I had zero appetite, was tired all the time, and while my thoughts were never negative, I was irritable all the time for no reason. It took meds for my appetite and energy to come back and for my irritability to finally stop–which could turn to rage in a snap.
    However, I still had my good moments regardless of how I felt, but at the end of the day, my mind and body couldn’t physically handle a good day, so I’d break down sobbing because I was filled with ungodly amounts of anxiety from just living. But I’m better now, and I’m glad writing is able to work to keep you on an even keel.

    • Thanks for your response and for sharing your experience. I’m so glad that you’re feeling better now. Writing down good things has only been part of my treatment, but it’s definitely been the most fun! This blog is just a little way to remind myself to keep doing it.

I'd love to hear what you think!

